About Me

About Me

My name is Jane; I am a non-smoker and have been a professional childcare provider (registered childminder) since 1990. I live in a town called Leek, situated in Staffordshire. I am married to Anthony and have 2 grown up children called Amanda and David.

I believe I provide quality childcare in a home-like environment, that is clean, safe, comfortable and loving, where they can play and learn. I cater for children from 6 weeks to 13 years old. Here children are allowed to be children and families are always a priority.

It is my aim to treat each child as an individual, to encourage them to recognise and respect house rules, promote healthy eating and take a positive approach to managing their behaviour. Physical or verbal abuse will NEVER be used as a method of correcting unwanted behaviour. I hope to always provide a quality service and will continually look for ways to improve the quality of services I offer.

In my most recent Ofsted inspection I have been graded outstanding in all areas of education, care, and skills, you can view the report by clicking the following link: My Ofsted Report

I maintain an open door policy for all parents. Parents are welcome to call or drop in any time during regular childcare hours. 'ring and enter'. Open door policy does NOT guarantee that my door will be kept unlocked. It is important to keep the doors locked for the safety of the children.

All parents get a 'parents handbook' compiled to familiarise them with my policies, procedures, daily routines and activities.

We have monthly themes and do craft and other activities relating to this theme.

I have a safe and secure garden with lots of outside toys for the children; there is a large sandpit and bikes for the children to play on. Some of the garden is covered to allow outside play in wet weather. The older children are allowed to access the higher part of the garden (not suitable for young children due to stepped access)

Daily activities are flexible and enable each child to develop within the range of their abilities. Part of the day is spent doing structured activities e.g. craft session, drawing, singing nursery rhymes stories and musical activities etc. and there is time set aside for free play with a range of toys to stimulate the imagination and provide physical and intellectual challenges. We go to the toddler group, toy and book library, local parks, places of nature and shops.

Children can choose a variety of activities and projects and some equipment is available to hand to allow choice of play.

Toys and equipment are replaced and maintained regularly and we also hire toys and books from the local library.

I have public liability insurance through Morton Michel.